Sounds of Music

The friends we met when we first arrived told us about a city not far from Munich that is worth a visit.  So on Thursday, we went with them to Salzburg to explore the city. It was a cheap train ride away and totally worth it because some of the city was used in the filming of the Sound of Music! You heard me correctly, Julie Andrews was there! After a quick bit to eat in the market and a few sights, I quickly found Mirabell gardens that was used for the filming of ‘Do Re Mi’ song. I was able to walk through the trees, jump through the tunnel, stand next to the fountain, and jump on the stairs that were used in the movie! It was amazing.

   

  

  

Mirabell Gardens
  
  

The steps

  

The tunnel

 After that we walked through a good portion of the city to make it up to Nonnburg Abbey and the castle. It was absolutely gorgeous and sunny out. The city looked like a picture. When we climbed up to the castle we also found a gorgeous view of the city. I loved just walking around the city although I was a little sad that I wasn’t able to get down to the house used in the film because it was too far. I was still really happy with the day and that I got to share it with some incredible people. 

 

Shopping center
  
     

                

After the long hike to the castle we got ice cream, relaxed by the water and then got some dinner before heading back to the train.  as we were leaving the bells were ringing in the churches and it sounded exactly like the movie. I almost cried I was so happy. It was just a wonderful day with some amazing friends.

   
       After we made it home, I started packing to go to Madrid in the morning before heading to bed. I was a long day so I was happy to get some rest before starting the next adventure in Madrid.

Published by

lydiajerabek

I am a young Public Relations professional who loves to travel the world and blog about it.

One thought on “Sounds of Music”

Leave a comment